A new direction

I have finally decided that it’s time for a career change. I’m still not 100% sure what I want to do, but I’m leaning towards Audiology or Speech Language Pathology (SLP); both of which will require going back to school for a Masters. So, not one to sit around once I’ve made a decision, I gave notice in January and my last day of work was May 19th. The application deadline for a Sept 2015 Masters start date is January 2015. In order for me to even have a chance to get into these competitive programs, I need to take 4-5 prerequisites and I need volunteer hours. I have roughly 7 and a half months to try and get those done. What I love about being in the year 2014 is that university doesn’t have to follow a calendar and the convenience of online courses exist. I am currently enrolled in a Biology (help me!) and Psychology course and I still need to enroll in 2-3 other courses including an Introduction to Statistics. I’ve hesitated in signing up for more than the two I have right now as I’m finding it a little difficult to get back into the swing of school and studying. Like today, for example, I have only made it halfway through one chapter in my Biology textbook even though I worked on it from morning until late afternoon. I say worked on it, and I did, but there were a lot of distractions in between (downfalls of doing everything online and from home). Lets just say it went something like this:

8:00 – went on a run, showered, got dressed

9:00 – sat down to study, checked email, checked Facebook

9:30 – attempted to start studying but a headline about Game of Thrones distracted me

9:45-10:30 – watched Game of Thrones

10:30 – checked Facebook and email again

10:45- 11:15- opened book and took notes (currently my notes are basically just copying the textbook word for word – everything seems to be important).

11:15 – watched Youtube clips of Ramin Karimloo (he’s awesome BTW), posted clip on friend’s wall (easy access to webpages is a problem when studying from an online textbook!)

11:30-11:45 – Studied (made it about a page and a half)

11:45-12:15 – ran an errand

12:15-1:30 – lunch and necessary lunch break

And the afternoon progressed pretty much the same as the morning. I just couldn’t sit and focus. I had trouble last Monday as well, but got more into it by later in the week so I’m hoping it will go better tomorrow.

On the bright side, I’m up to speed with Psychology and have even done the first assignment. I have to try and complete Psychology and Biology in double time to try and fit the other courses in (the ones I’m terrified to sign up for until I get my studying habits in check). Also, did I mention that I have to do well in these courses. I’m completing these not just because they’re prerequisites, but also because I need to boost my GPA (again the programs are competitive).

I just wanted to share my big news and this exciting, but scary, transition. I also plan to try and enjoy this summer and do a few different things which I’ll post about. I’m not even going to kid myself, I’m sure blogging will be some of my well-earned study breaks ;)

I hope everyone is enjoying the start to a wonderful summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new direction

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Wow, exciting! Are there any local libraries or coffee shops you can go to and escape the distractions of TV/internet?

  2. Julie says:

    Thanks! It is exciting and I have to keep remembering that :) I have thought of going to the library/coffee shops and I think I will do that from time to time, it’ll be good to keep in the routine of going out and “working” and seeing people. It’s a little weird to interact with no one during the day!

  3. Lydia Warren says:

    Good for you on starting! I say all the time that if social media was as pervasive when I was in uni as it is today, I’d still be there! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

