McCrae Lake July 13-15, 2014

IMG_1822Just got back from camping with some friends.

Camping with Sarah and Rob was a lot of fun and McCrae lake was gorgeous. We arrived on Sunday and stayed until Tuesday, hoping to get the lake to ourselves (I love my flexible schedule!), but it seems quite a few people have the same flexible schedule. Most of the campsites were still taken Sunday night, but most seemed to pack up on Monday and head out so we did get the lake to ourselves for part of the trip. 

It was so nice to be camping again. The weather was wonderful on Sunday and Monday and the lake was a welcomed sight after hiking in through mosquito infested forest.

Loved the view! Though as you can tell, I don’t really have a daredevil nature. I crawled onto the rock!

IMG_1788

And then still clung onto it for the picture!

IMG_1789

Also I love all the safety colours I’m wearing, a bright yellow shirt so I’m easy to spot and a bright orange fluorescent safety whistle in easy reach.

We camped at two different campsites over the two nights for variety and to practice a more trekking type of camping as we’re hoping to do some longer trips in the future. We may need to get a bit faster at packing up camp as when I looked at my watch after we had finished breakfast, packed up and were ready to start hiking, it was already 11! Although I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed the leisurely breakfast and morning.

We hiked partway around the lake on Monday before backtracking a bit to set up camp at a really nice spot that Sarah and Rob had discovered on a previous camping trip. On our hike around the lake, we definitely spent a fair bit of time heading through forests with no trail which just meant we got our share of cobwebs and dewy branches in our face. Again, we appreciated emerging from the forest and enjoying the view of the lake. Sarah and Rob obviously feel a little more comfortable standing near edges of cliffs than I do.

IMG_1839

Just before we turned around, we got to this area that we wanted to check out as a potential campsite. We had just decided that this wouldn’t be our campsite when Sarah saw a snake, and for me, that just made the decision that much clearer. Time to move on!

We camped our second night at a great spot with a perfect entry point for swimming.

IMG_1848

The water was perfect and we had a few swims that afternoon. This campsite was a bit tight for two tents and although I did make Sarah and Rob always pitch their tent close to mine, this was a bit extreme, even for me, but the result was that I did feel quite safe :)

IMG_1862

It rained over our last night and into the morning, but it wasn’t too bad since we were leaving that day anyways. It would have been nice to get a morning swim in, but it just means we’ll have to go back again.

Here are some scenic pictures from the trip.

IMG_1795

I also love the light on the rocks.

IMG_1798

IMG_1804

The moon just above the trees.

IMG_1832

Early morning mist.

IMG_1829

And one more sunset picture.

IMG_1813

Now I need to clean the apartment and do some work for my Psychology course.

This entry was posted in Activity, Events, Friends, Holidays, Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to McCrae Lake July 13-15, 2014

  1. Sarah Moore says:

    Great post!

  2. Lydia Warren says:

    Sounds like you’re not a camper, LOL. A glamper perhaps?

  3. Julie says:

    lol – I’m just building up my camping skills. Don’t want to start too skilled, then there’s no where to go :)

Leave a Reply

