Improv Thursdays

I have been enjoying waking up without an alarm and going on runs when I feel like it. The 6:00 AM run has now turned into the 9:00 AM run despite my best intentions to remain an early riser, but I justify this by the idea that people will be at work and thus the trail will be less crowded at 9:00. I’m still struggling a little with getting back in the groove of doing schoolwork, but part of that is because I’m still figuring out the exact next steps I want to take, so I’m holding back committing 100% to anything. For good or for bad, I have decided to finish my psychology course first and then start my biology course. Ideally I should be doing them at the same time since that’s a more realistic university experience, but for right now, this is what’s going to work for me. I am actually sort of looking forward to my biology class, but it can wait.

I have yet to pick up volunteering and will most likely start that in August or September (let’s be honest, September).

So to sum up what I have done so far in my time off, I have continued running, worked on one psychology course and have gotten lots of family time in. Also, I finally finished reading The Magic Mountain and watched both seasons of Orange is the New Black on Netflix. Typing the previous sentence, I initially thought it was an odd juxtaposition, but on second thought it may not be so odd after all. Hmm I kind of feel I want to write an essay on the similarities between the two…maybe I AM getting back into school mode! 

I do have one more thing I’ve been doing. My sister and I signed up for an introduction to improv class that runs every Thursday night for 8 weeks. So far, we have had two classes. I signed up for this to get more comfortable speaking and being up in front of people (somehow my comfort level has decreased over the years and it wasn’t that high to begin with). The idea that I’ll most likely have to do presentations if I go back to school currently terrifies me.

So far it has been a fantastic experience! The people, not surprisingly 10-15 years younger than I am, all seem really nice. Really, most of us are there because we want to get more comfortable in front of people which just makes us all feel a lot more relaxed. There are also 0 expectations which always helps! I never realized how similar goat herding and go-karting can sound until we did one activity where, after a student shouted out an action for us to do, I was happily miming goat herding and everyone else was happily miming go karting.

Also, we had to come up with a joke on the spot and I managed to say a punch line that actually made sense! I was ready to walk out of the class right then and there, having hit my high note, but since there was still another hour and a half I managed to stick it out.

Some upcoming events: camping trip, sister’s graduation, mom’s 65th birthday and a friend’s show.

Oh yeah, and completing my psychology course by the end of July (that’s my goal!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment